海伦·玛格丽特·布劳博士
斯坦福大学医学院
微生物与免疫学系、干细胞生物学与再生医学研究所
“唐纳德与迪莉娅·巴克斯特”教授
巴克斯特干细胞生物学实验室主任
教育背景
  • 1969年,英格兰约克大学文学学士
  • 1970年,马萨诸塞州剑桥市哈佛大学理学硕士
  • 1975年,马萨诸塞州剑桥市哈佛大学博士(Ph.D.)
学术研究
海伦·布劳博士于英格兰约克大学获得学士学位,并于哈佛大学获得硕士与博士学位。目前,她就职于加州斯坦福市的斯坦福大学医学院,担任“唐纳德·与迪莉娅·巴克斯特”教授、微生物与免疫学系与斯坦福干细胞生物学与再生医学研究所的巴克斯特干细胞生物学实验室主任。

布劳博士在许多方面受到认可,其中最具代表性的是:当选为美国科学促进会会员(1991年);荣获美国细胞生物学学会“细胞生物学领域女性”(WICB)资深职业嘉许奖(1992年);当选为美国发育生物学学会主席(1994年);卡罗林斯卡诺贝尔论坛演讲嘉宾(1995年);当选为美国国家科学院医学研究所院士(1995年);当选为美国人文与科学院院士(1996年);美国实验生物学学会联盟(FASEB)科学卓越奖(1999年);当选为国际细胞分化学会主席(2002-2004年);梅亨大学荣誉博士(2003年);当选为哈佛大学监察委员会员委员(2004年-2010年);因在科学领域的杰出创新成就,当选为美国癌症研究学会(AACR)- 欧文·温斯坦(Irving Weinstein)基金会杰出讲师(2011年)。

海伦·布劳是再生医学领域的先锋。她因以下重大发现而扬名世界:细胞分化状态具有可逆性,而非固定、不可变的。她证实了细胞的可塑性,从根本上改变了人们对哺乳动物细胞分化的理解。利用肌肉作为模型,布劳的研究第一次确切地证明了不同的细胞能够利用非分裂的融合细胞(异核体)进行程序重编,从而克服了此前杂交研究中的染色体损失的问题,并表明约翰·格登(John Gurdon)关于细胞可塑性的发现并不局限于两栖类动物。她的研究证明了细胞分化需要连续性的调节,反式作用调节器的化学计量学变化可导致细胞核程序重编;这一发现为利用转录因子超表达诱导多能干细胞(iPS)提供了科学依据。布劳将这一发现应用于干细胞生物学与再生医学。利用异核体典型的快速、高效与同步的程序重编,布劳的研究显示:程序重编可引起一个精确的基因表达时间序列。该发现使得人们能够确定新的早期调节器,而已有研究证明,新的早期调节器对于发起iPS程序重编起着关键作用;该发现还使人们可以通过下一代深层排序的新型算法对程序重编的过程进行分析。通过将此再生可能性的新证据应用于治疗因疾病、受伤或老化所致的肌肉损伤,她已经成为该领域的领头羊。通过巧妙而具有启示性的实验,再辅以新技术进步(以下第(4)部分) —— 这是布劳研究的标志性特色 ——她发现,在致命的“杜氏肌肉营养不良症”(Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy, DMD)中,减小的端粒长度导致骨骼肌内干细胞以及心肌线粒体衰竭。她利用老鼠建立研究模型,第一次概括出导致DMD致命的扩张型心肌病,这使新的治疗介入测试能够得以进行。她是肌肉干细胞临床应用的先锋:她设计了各种可能的隔离、净化方法;对于位于组织中、专门用于骨骼肌组织再造的肌肉干细胞,她还设计了为其进行描述定性的方法。另一个开创性的进展是,她设计了通过利用模拟关键肌肉组织特性的各种生物工程微环境、以栽培方式繁殖干细胞的方法;该方法显示,在控制干细胞自我更新的过程中,生物物理学与生物化学机制相结合可产生协同增强效应。她的研究还得出以下结论:随着年龄增长,三分之二的肌肉干细胞在肌肉再生过程中逐渐产生细胞自身缺陷。她利用新型的肌肉细胞移植非侵入性生物荧光化验技术对有关混合物进行筛选,发现了一种可用于标靶内在缺陷(p38α与p38β MAPK)的药物(SB202),令肌肉干细胞老化的病人恢复活力。她将经治疗的老化干细胞移植至老化实验鼠的受伤肌肉里,成功将肌肉的力量恢复至与年轻肌肉同等水平。对于由于局部创伤所导致的肌肉萎缩以及由于骨折(越来越多老年人受到骨折的困扰)所导致的创伤与固化所引起的萎缩,该项研究具有广泛的治疗意义。总而言之,布劳从根本上改变了我们对细胞分化的理解,对发育生物学、基因程序重编、干细胞研究以及再生医学产生了深远的影响。

专业经验
  • 1969年- 1975年:马萨诸塞州剑桥市哈佛大学生物学系博士研究生(导师:F.C. Kafatos)
  • 1975年- 1978年:加州旧金山市加州大学生物化学与生物物理学系医学遗传学部博士后研究员(导师:C.J. Epstein)
  • 1978年- 1986年:加州斯坦福市斯坦福大学医学院药理学系助理教授
  • 1986年- 1991年:加州斯坦福市斯坦福大学医学院药理学系副教授
  • 1991年- 2002年:加州斯坦福市斯坦福大学医学院分子药理学系教授
  • 1997年- 2002年:加州斯坦福市斯坦福大学医学院分子药理学系(现在的化学与系统生物学系)主席
  • 1997年至今: 加州斯坦福市斯坦福大学医学院,基因治疗技术主任
  • 1999年至今:加州斯坦福市斯坦福大学医学院“唐纳德与迪莉娅·巴克斯特基金会”教授
  • 2002年至今:加州斯坦福市斯坦福大学医学院微生物与免疫学系与干细胞生物学与再生医学研究所的巴克斯特干细胞生物学实验室主任
 
导师

海伦·玛格丽特·布劳博士 詹姆斯·邓肯
博士
罗伊 ·基索尼
博士
林海帆
博士
汉斯·思高勒尔
博士
大卫·施皮格尔博士,医学博士 菲奥娜·瓦特
博士

Blau, Helen Margaret, Ph.D.
Donald E and Delia B. Baxter Professor
Director of the Baxter Laboratory for Stem Cell Biology
Department of Microbiology and Immunology & Institute for Stem
Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine
Stanford University School of Medicine
EDUCATION
  • 1969 B.A. University of York, York, England
  • 1970 M.S. Harvard University, Cambridge, MA
  • 1975 Ph.D. Harvard University, Cambridge, MA
Research
Dr. Helen Blau received her B.A. from University of York in England and her M.A. and Ph.D. from Harvard University. She is currently the Donald E. and Delia B. Baxter Professor and Director of the Baxter Laboratory for Stem Cell Biology in the Microbiology and Immunology Department and the Stanford Institute for Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine in the Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford, California.

Dr. Blau has been recognized in many ways, the most notable being: elected to the American Association for the Advancement of Science (1991), the Senior Career Recognition WICB Award, American Society of Cell Biology (1992), elected President, American Society for Developmental Biology (1994), Nobel Forum Lecture, Karolinska (1995), elected to Institute of Medicine, National Academy of Sciences (1995), elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1996), FASEB Excellence in Science Award (1999), elected President, International Society of Differentiation (2002-04); Honorary Doctorate, University of Nijmegen (2003); elected Harvard Board of Overseers (2004-2010), AACR-Irving Weinstein Foundation Distinguished Lecturership for outstanding innovations in science (2011).

Helen Blau is a pioneer in regenerative medicine. She is world-renowned for her seminal discovery that the differentiated state is reversible, rather than fixed and terminal. Her demonstration of cellular plasticity constituted a paradigm shift in our understanding of mammalian cell differentiation. Using muscle as a model, Blau’s work provided the first definitive evidence that diverse cell types could be reprogrammed using non-dividing fused cells (heterokaryons), overcoming problems of chromosome loss in previous hybrid studies and showing that John Gurdon’s findings of cellular plasticity are not limited to amphibians. Her work demonstrated that cell differentiation requires continuous regulation, and that a shift in the stoichiometry of trans-acting regulators induces nuclear reprogramming, providing the scientific underpinnings for induction of pluripotent stem cells (iPS) by transcription factor overexpression. Blau applied this discovery to stem cell biology and regenerative medicine. Capitalizing on the rapid, efficient, and synchronous reprogramming typical of heterokaryons, she showed that reprogramming entails a precise temporal sequence of gene expression. This finding enabled the identification of novel early regulators that proved crucial to the initiation of reprogramming to iPS and allowed analyses of the process of reprogramming through novel algorithms for next generation deep sequencing. She led the field by applying this new evidence of regenerative potential to novel approaches for treating muscle damaged by disease, injury, or aging. Her clever and illuminating experiments coupled with novel technological advances (section (4) below) – hallmarks of her research – led to the discovery that in lethal Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy (DMD), reduced telomere length leads to exhaustion of stem cells in skeletal muscle and mitochondrial failure in cardiac muscle. Her mouse model is the first to recapitulate the dilated cardiomyopathy that causes death in DMD, enabling tests of novel therapeutic interventions. She pioneered the use of muscle stem cells for clinical applications, developing methods for the prospective isolation, purification, and characterization of the muscle stem cells that reside in the tissue and are dedicated to skeletal muscle tissue regeneration. A groundbreaking advance was the development of a method to propagate the stem cells in culture using bioengineered microenvironments that mimic crucial muscle tissue properties, which showed that biophysical and biochemical mechanisms synergize to control stem cell self-renewal. She determined that with aging, two-thirds of muscle stem cells develop a cell-autonomous defect in muscle regeneration. A screen of compounds using an innovative non-invasive bioluminescence assay of muscle cell engraftment led to the discovery of a drug (SB202) that targets the intrinsic defect (p38α and p38β MAPK), leading to rejuvenation of the aged muscle stem cell population. Transplantation of treated aged stem cells into injured muscles of aged mice restored muscle strength to a level comparable to young. This work has broad therapeutic implications for treating muscle wasting due to localized trauma or atrophy following injury and immobilization due to bone fractures that plague the increasingly aged population. Blau has fundamentally altered our understanding of cell differentiation, profoundly impacting developmental biology, genetic reprogramming, stem cell research, and regenerative medicine.

Professional Experience
  • 1969 – 1975: Predoctoral Fellow, Department of Biology, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA (advisor: F.C. Kafatos)
  • 1975 – 1978: Postdoctoral Fellow, Division of Medical Genetics, Departments of Biochemistry and Biophysics, University of California, San Francisco, CA (advisor: C.J. Epstein)
  • 1978 – 1986: Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmacology, Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford, CA
  • 1986 – 1991: Associate Professor, Department of Pharmacology, Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford, CA
  • 1991 – 2002: Professor, Department of Molecular Pharmacology, Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford, CA
  • 1997 – 2002: Chair, Department of Molecular Pharmacology (now Department of Chemical and Systems Biology), Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford, CA
  • 1997 – present: Director, Gene Therapy Technology, Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford, CA
  • 1999 – present: Donald E. and Delia B. Baxter Foundation Professor, Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford, CA
  • 2002 – present: Director, Baxter Laboratory for Stem Cell Biology, Department of Microbiology and Immunology & Institute for Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine, Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford, CA
 
MENTORS

Blau, Helen Margaret
Ph.D.
Duncan, James S
Ph.D.
Kishony, Roy
Ph.D.
Lin, Haifan
Ph.D.
Schoeler, Hans
Ph.D.
Spiegel, David
M.D.
Watt, Fiona M.
Ph.D., FRS, FMedSci