菲奥娜·瓦特博士
皇家学会会员,皇家医学院院士
伦敦大学国王学院
干细胞与再生医学中心主任
个人简介
菲奥娜·瓦特于剑桥大学获得本人首个学位,并于牛津大学获得细胞生物学博士学位。她曾在麻省理工学院(MIT)任博士后研究员,开始研究哺乳动物表皮细胞分化与组织构成。她在伦敦风湿病学肯尼迪研究所组建了第一支研究团队,之后在英国癌症研究院(CRUK)的伦敦研究所工作了20年。她参与建立了CRUK剑桥研究所与惠康基金会干细胞研究中心;2012年,她移师伦敦大学国王学院,建立干细胞与再生医学中心。

菲奥娜·瓦特获得许多奖项与荣誉。她是皇家学会会员、皇家医学院院士、欧洲分子生物学组织会员以及欧洲科学院院士。她还是美国人文与科学院荣誉外籍院士。她获得了香奈儿CE.R.I.E.S.(皮肤表皮和感官研究调查中心)研究奖、美国细胞生物学学会的“细胞生物学领域女性”资深奖以及荷兰医学科学学会联盟的FEDERA奖。她曾任英国细胞生物学学会主席、国际干细胞研究学会主席。她为科学出版提供的服务包括:担任《细胞科学期刊》主编以及《eLife》副主编。她还担任许多机构的科学咨询委员会委员,包括加拿大干细胞网络、 哈佛干细胞研究所、新加坡力学生物学研究所(MBI)与奥地利科学院分子生物技术研究所(IMBA)。她公开提倡女性参与科研活动;她培养的博士研究生超过40名,博士后研究人员超过60名;其中许多学生已经开始独立研究生涯,继续追求卓越的成就。

长期以来,菲奥娜·瓦特的研究兴趣一直在于哺乳动物皮肤的外表层,即表皮,是如何通过干细胞的自我更新以及干细胞后裔的终末分化(terminal differentiation)得以维持的。她利用经培植的人表皮作为体外模型以及经基因改造的老鼠作为体内模型,确定干细胞的标志和位置,阐明若干信号通路(包括Wnt通路与Notch通路)在调节干细胞域大小方面发挥的作用。最近,她利用经人工生物工程改造的微环境捕捉人表皮单一干细胞,并在试管内检视这些细胞对特定物理暗示的反应;研究显示,不同类别细胞外基质(ECM)的相互作用可触发表皮通过不同的感觉机制以及下游信号通路(downstream signaling pathways)而分化。她还发现了一个基因互动染色质(chromatin)要素网络,该网络通过控制ECM的粘附程度,进而调节功能上相互关联的基因;进而证明了不同外在与内在信号的相互作用在确定细胞命运决策中起着核心作用。她近期还为皮肤中各种纤维原细胞的世系(fibroblast lineages)进行了定性,并展示了它们对于肿瘤基质(tumourstroma)的影响。

 
导师

海伦·玛格丽特·布劳博士 詹姆斯·邓肯
博士
罗伊 ·基索尼
博士
林海帆
博士
汉斯·思高勒尔
博士
大卫·施皮格尔博士,医学博士 菲奥娜·瓦特
博士

Watt, Fiona M.,
Ph.D., FRS, FMedSci
Director of the Centre for Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine
King’s College London
BIOGRAPHY
Fiona Watt obtained her first degree from Cambridge University and her DPhil, in cell biology, from the University of Oxford. She was a postdoc at MIT, where she first began studying differentiation and tissue organisation in mammalian epidermis. She established her first research group at the Kennedy Institute for Rheumatology in London and then spent 20 years at the CRUK London Research Institute. She helped to establish the CRUK Cambridge Research Institute and the Wellcome Trust Centre for Stem Cell Research and in 2012 she moved to King’s College London to found the Centre for Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine.

Fiona Watt has received a numerous awards and honors. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society, a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences, a member of the European Molecular Biology Organisation and a member of the Academia Europaea. She is also an honorary foreign member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. She has received the CE.R.I.E.S. Research Award of Chanel, the American Society for Cell Biology Women in Cell Biology Senior Award and the FEDERA award of the Dutch Federation of Medical Scientific Societies. She is past president of the British Society for Cell Biology and the International Society for Stem Cell Research. Her service to scientific publishing includes serving as editor in chief of the Journal of Cell Science and deputy editor of eLife. She is a member of several scientific advisory boards, including the Canadian Stem Cell Network, the Harvard Stem Cell Institute, the Mechanobiology Institute, Singapore (MBI), and the Institute of Molecular Biotechnology of the Austrian Academy of Sciences (IMBA). She is an outspoken advocate of women in science and has trained over 40 PhD students and over 60 postdoctoral researchers, many of whom have gone on to pursue highly successful independent research careers.

Fiona Watt’s long-standing interest is in how the outer covering of mammalian skin, the epidermis, is maintained through self-renewal of stem cells and terminal differentiation of their progeny. Using in vitro models of cultured human epidermis and in vivo models of genetically modified mice, she has identified stem cell markers, determined where stem cells are located, and elucidated the role of several signalling pathways, including Wnt and Notch, in regulating the size of the stem cell compartment. She has recently used artificial bioengineered microenvironments to capture single human epidermal stem cells and examine their responses to specific physical cues in vitro and shown that different types of ECM interaction trigger epidermal differentiation via different sensing mechanisms and downstream signalling pathways. She has also uncovered a network of genetically interacting chromatin factors that regulate functionally related genes controlling ECM adhesion, thereby demonstrating that the interplay between diverse intrinsic and extrinsic signals is central to determining cell fate decisions. Most recently she has characterised different fibroblast lineages in the skin and shown how they contribute to tumour stroma.

 
MENTORS

Blau, Helen Margaret
Ph.D.
Duncan, James S
Ph.D.
Kishony, Roy
Ph.D.
Lin, Haifan
Ph.D.
Schoeler, Hans
Ph.D.
Spiegel, David
M.D.
Watt, Fiona M.
Ph.D., FRS, FMedSci